top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaya Glitters

Afro Hair Talk

Updated: Dec 18, 2020

Hi M - squad it's Maya Glitters here and today's blog is all about celebrating all different hair types and textures.


In Photo - Storm Reid, Celai West, World Afro Day


I decided to write this blog after being inspired by Celai ("say - lay") West - after interviewing her (will be available on my podcast soon)! She is the youngest EVER model to walk among adults during New York Fashion Week! #incredible! Even though that is A HUGE achievement the other thing that really moved me was the fact she is using her platform for good! She has well over 100k followers and she is promoting a cause.



"She aims to use her platform to show the beauty of her kinks & coils…because ALL girls with ALL textures are beautiful and should be treated fairly. #KinkyHairMatters" - By Celai West


I 1000000% believe in what Celai believes! I believe all textures and types of hair should be celebrated! No one should feel ashamed of their hair or about what anyone thinks! Instead of focusing on what others think of you, focus on what YOU think of you.


Hair types:

Photo Credit - https://bit.ly/2YP65EF


1, being loose curls, to 4c being tight coils, the chart above shows all different natural hair types!

Can you guess what type of hair you have?


Type 1 - Straight


Type 2 - Wavy


Type 3 - Spiral Curls


Type 4 - Coily, Kinky, Curly


Here is a slightly more visual representation ⬇️


Afro Hair


What is Afro Hair?


Afro hair is a style of hair unique to black people! Often curly,kinky and coily!


Above I have put together a picture showing words to describe Afro hair

- royalty

- fierce

- puffy

- unique

- soft

- fluffy

- beautiful


Above are just a couple of the many words to describe Afro hair!


A Couple Of Ways I wear My 'Fro




1. Clipped to one side


2. My signature - 2 bunches!


3. 1 bunch


4. Mohican


These are just 4 of the many hairstyles Afros allow you to create!


I absolutely LOVE my natural hair and have ALWAYS felt privileged to have it! No one should ever feel anything other than proud of their natural hair (it's a part of what makes YOU, YOU)!


World Afro Day (WAD) is a company aiming to "celebrate Afro hair globally and educate all to create equality".


“World Afro Day is a global day of change, education and celebration of Afro hair; endorsed by the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human rights. We work with families, schools and authorities to tackle discrimination against Afro hair. We carry out research, create events and produce resources to empower people with Afro hair and raise awareness in wider society.”

Even if you don't have Afro hair, this event is for you! It will inspire everyone regardless of their natural hair types! It's an opportunity for everyone to share their natural hair experiences/stories and celebrate, embrace and appreciate them!


Conclusion:


I have never felt anything other than proud of my natural Afro hair. It was only a couple of years ago that I realised people actually worried about wearing their natural hair. Often I would hear that people would straighten or perm their hair because they were told it was never good enough, but I know my naturally kinky,coily hair is to be embraced. I LOVE my Afro and the versatility it brings - whether I’m rocking bunches, bantu knots or super, sleek cornrows and so should YOU!


Thank you so much for reading this blog post! I hope it really inspired you to LOVE your natural hair! Wear it proudly! Your hair's sheer beauty says it all! Your hair is a special part of who you are.


Stay Stylish,


Maya Glitters😄

 

Follow Me:

 

Instagram - @worldafroday

Instagram - @celaiwest

Instagram - @stormreid

 
 

Read Next ➡️ 4 Items I love From Shein

bottom of page