top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaya Glitters

V&A Africa Fashion


Recently in the V&A museum, there was a unique exhibition: Africa Fashion. It was a bright burst of colour and beautiful patterns. For that reason, I decided to visit!


My Fave Looks


First off, I love the comb nation of the sequins and the 70s style bell bottoms. Add the trousers and the carefully designed tied suit top and you get a true masterpiece.



This look is just stunning. I love how the designer used the recent trend (tassels) - more practical wear tips mentioned in my London Fashion Week blog Post.

The looks' silhouette as a whole is very sleek and modern, the layering aspect gives the look a unique style, unlike anything I have seen before.



I'm truly in love with the red dress. Just look at the amount of time and detail which went into that dress. It's entirely beaded intricately and with care. It's one of the very few of its kind. I'm also so obsessed with the separated sleeves and the bow detailing near the top of each detached sleeve. This is definitely something I could see myself wearing!


Accessories


In picture 1: The accessories feature traditional handmade craft techniques. The designer plays with colour and scales.

Picture 2: Featuring a traditional look using cowrie shells. Cowrie shells were originally a currency form used in west Africa. In West Africa, the shells often have a symbol of connection to the spiritual world.

Picture 3: I love the use of abstract shapes and the metal plates are a really striking part of the necklace (sure to enhance all outfits).



Thank you so much to V&A for putting on such an incredible display! I had so much fun and would definitely recommend it as a great day out!



Thank you for reading today's post! Hope you enjoyed it!


Stay Stylish,



Maya Glitters

 



 

 

bottom of page