top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaya Glitters

Africa Fashion Week London

Updated: Oct 29, 2021

There's something so special about AFWL. The street style is so different from any other show. People go ALL OUT! It's bold, bright and cultural all at the same time! I loved every second of it.


OOTD

girl wearing fashion outfit

Dress - Ethincroyals

Skirt/Gilet - Ethnicroyals

Kikz - ASOS

Sunglasses - Shein


Disclaimer - Dress and skirt were gifted by Ethnicroyals.


When I first arrived, I was greeted by an array of stalls of small business owners! Below were a couple of my faves!


Africa Fashion Tote bag

Just look at the detail on the tote bag! I'm in love with the neutral tones and the traditional "Bantu Knot" hairstyle displayed.


The jewellery on the stall was so creative.

The faces were rings and necklace pendants!

SO ORIGINAL 🔥





Africa Fashion Week

The Ankara prints were truly divine. How cool is the bag (pictured left) such a unique shape! Definitely, a trend to capitalise on NOW. Jump on sooner than later.


The Graduate Fashion Show

After I finished having a look at some of the stalls, I decided to watch the Graduate Fashion Show as I feel it's important to support up and coming designers.


1.

This was by far my fave designer. She wasn't scared to break the boundaries and as a result, she created a breathtaking collection.

Africa Fashion Week

Just by glancing at her collection, you can see the hard work that went into EVERY look.


2.

Just as predicted: FRINGE IS IN! If you read my LFW Day 1 blog post then you would have been known that fringe will be the next big trend! And here my prediction has been proven. This collection mixes contemporary fringe with traditional African print. I AM IN AWE OF THIS COMBINATION. Never at shows have I seen anything quite like this collection.


Africa Fashion Week london

The slim silhouette and bold arms go together perfectly.


3.


This collection in 2 words: BOLD AND BRIGHT.



4.



I thought this collection was really cool and modern. The prints reminded me of abstract art and all the pieces conveyed a synonymous message.

I truly admired the detail on the back of this jacket and the whole look gave me 90's vibes.























5.

Finally, I just had to feature this truly talented designer. I loved the contrast between the black and yellow elements. The dress was beautiful and I really liked the asymmetric cascading element near the base.


News!



So excited to announce I'm in the top 10 Teen Fashion Blogs Globally!!!! Thank you so much to Feedspot! This is such a huge achievement for me! And thank you msquad and everyone that has ever supported me :)


Check it out! ⬇️



fashion girl outfit

Thank you for reading today's blog post and thank you to the AFWL Team for having me!


Stay Stylish,


Maya 💕

 
 
 

Read Next ➡️ London Fashion Week Day 3

bottom of page